Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Le son du grisli
15 juin 2009

GZA : Liquid Swords (Geffen, 1995)

grisli_swords

The greatest hip hop record ever made... Before this, I was convinced Public Enemy had this prize but this record changed my whole way of listening to rap music... The words are for me half indecipherable which is something I really enjoy when listening to music... I don't need or want to understand the words completely... Mark Smith and Captain Beefheart have a similar effect... The words have the effect of creating impressions and atmospheres. Ambiguous and in east coast staten island slang that I can hardly get a grip on... Rhythmically, The Genius flys all over the beat... Hardly ever following the pulse or tempo... This was also the first time I'd heard this style of rapping and it had a big influence on rappers for years to come. The loops and drones are dark, melancholic and cinematic and I can listen to them again and again. A jewel in the WU TANG COLLECTION.

GZA : Liquid Swords (Geffen)
Edition : 1995.
CD : 01/ Liquid Swords 02/ Duel of the Iron Mic 03/ Living in the World Today 04/ Gold 05/ Cold World 06/ Labels 07/ 4th Chamber 08/ Shadowboxin' 09/ Hell's Wind Staff/Killah Hills 10304 10/ Investigative Reports 11/ Swordsman 12/ I Gotcha Back 13/ Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth
Andy Moor © Le son du grisli

Marker

Guitariste entendu le plus souvent au sein de The Ex, Andy Moor a récemment publié Le journaliste, ouvrage issu de sa collaboration avec Anne James Chaton.

Commentaires
Newsletter